Message from the School Committee Special Town Meeting Tonight and School Committee Vote in Support

From the School Committee –

Message from the School Committee Special Town Meeting Tonight and School Committee Vote in Support

Dear Parents, Guardians and other members of our community,

As many of you are aware, there will be a Special Town Meeting scheduled for tonight Tuesday, June 21 at 6 p.m. in the Medfield High School Gymnasium.

The primary issue at hand is a to vote to allow the Board of Selectmen to enter into a Land Disposition Agreement (LDA) with Trinity Financial for a specific parcel of the former Medfield State Hospital land, generally known as the “Core Campus (Article 1).

On June 8, 2022, the School Committee met in open session with representatives of Trinity Financial and the Medfield State Hospital Development Committee (MSHDC). We engaged in a comprehensive conversation about the predicted impact of the proposed development on the District. Over the past week, Trinity, the MSHDC, and Town and District Administration have worked to address the Committee’s concerns both informally and within the terms of the proposed Land Disposition Agreement (LDA).

On June 16, 2022, the School Committee again met in open session and discussed Trinity Financial’s response to the Committee’s concerns. In particular, the Committee noted:

  • that the sale and consequent redevelopment resolves an open 20 million dollar liability in hazardous material mitigation costs should we continue to own this portion of the property, which would have a significant impact upon the town’s ability to fund a new elementary school project,
  • Trinity’s responsiveness to the Committee’s concerns regarding space and potential future staff needs.

The Town Moderator, Scott McDermott, has asked that we also distribute this open letter to the community, which includes important details about the anticipated order of the proceedings  

The Medfield School Committee

Jessica Reilly, Chair

Leo Brehm, Vice Chair

Timothy Knight, Recording Secretary

Michelle Kirkby, Financial Secretary

Anna Mae O’Shea Brooke, Member at Large

Comments are closed.