Volunteer of the year


The Medfield Foundation is pleased to announce that the 2017 Medfield Foundation Volunteer Awards will honor the following extraordinary individuals for their remarkable volunteer services in the Town of Medfield. There were six nominees for the volunteer of the year, but only four separate nominations as there were two pairs nominated. There were two youth nominees, one lifetime achievement nominee pair, and one person was nominated twice.


Jim Schwartz and Patti Schwartz for their combined 77 years of service to the BSA, 46 years of it in Medfield, for Medfield Boy Scout Troop 89.

Tracy Fedak and Tracey Rogers for chairing, running, and inspiring the hugely involved and successful All Night Graduation Party (ANGP) for the past 3 years.

Linda Frawley for 13 years of lead-by-example service organizing and leading the 400 girls, aged 5-17, in the Medfield Girl Scouts.
nancy-irwin-mary-pat-mcsharryNancy Irwin and Mary Pat McSharry for creating and running the SWAP area at the Transfer Station for the past 8 and 4 years, respectively.
Jean Mineo

Jean Mineo for founding the Cultural Alliance of Medfield, the Holiday Stroll, implementing the Straw Hat Park, and working on the Medfield State Hospital Master Planning Committee.

Lily Doctoroff for organizing Bigger than Bullying, starting a Gender Equality Club, and working with the Medfield’s Vine Lake Preservation Trust, Medfield State Hospital Master Planning Committee, New Life Home Refurnishing, National Honor Society, and Medway Family Shelter.


Anne Phipps for helping build a school in Kenya, assisting at a camp for seriously ill children, volunteering for Project Teamwork, Student Council, Medfield Cares About Prevention, peer tutoring, Dean of Students Advisory Board, Putting for Patients, Medfield Food Cupboard, and Digital Learning Day.
Special Recognition:

  • Lily Doctoroff is the 2017 Youth Volunteer of the Year.
  • Jean Mineo is the 2017 Volunteer of the Year.
  • Jim Schwartz and Patti Schwartz receive the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award.

All these extraordinary volunteers will be celebrated and feted at a reception to be held on Sunday, March 19 from 3:00 – 5:00 PM at The Center on Ice House Road, Medfield, to which the public is invited.  At the March 19 reception, each nominator is asked to introduce their nominee, and each nominees is asked to share and describe what it is they do and why they do it.  In the past, those stories and vignettes have been interesting, and at times both magical and moving.

Brothers Marketplace generously sponsors the MFi Volunteer Awards, and support is also received from The Rockland Trust Charitable Foundation.


2 responses to “Volunteer of the year

  1. Jean Kingsbury

    Congratulations!! Thank-you for all you
    Do each and every day for our
    Beloved Community.


  2. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your
    weblog. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good
    asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested. Many thanks!